Building a healthy relationship with yourself and with others


We all have plans for our life – the type of career we are going to have, the type of mate we will marry, where we are going to live, how many kids we are going to have, etc., but sometimes life doesn’t pan out exactly the way we thought.

When I was in high school, I said I wanted to be a lawyer. I went to college, I majored in English. My last year of college, I took the LSAT (law school admissions test), got a pretty decent score, started applying to law school, and then something hit me – was this really what I wanted to do or was it what was expected of me. So needless, to say, I didn’t go to law school, but I had no idea what I wanted to do next. I worked a couple of jobs after college – none of which had the potential to lead to an actual career.

One day, I decided I was going to leave Mississippi. Mind you, I had no plan and no money. Just a desire. I went to Atlanta for about two weeks – wasn’t for me. Then I drove to the Washington, DC area – mind you, I had no plan, no money, no job, no family, no friends, and really no place to live. Funny, how the decisions we make in our mid 20s are very different from the decisions we would make 10, 15 years later.

I’m not going to go into a long story of how my life has unfolded as a result of me taking a totally different path from the one I had planned in high school. Oh, I must say this, I had ideas of what I thought my life would be once I got settled in the DC area, and let me tell ya, the reality doesn’t match the plan. Okay, now on to you. 😊

Sometimes you have a plan for your life, but God has a different plan for you. Yes, you may have mapped it all out, and could actually visualize it, but all it takes is ONE thing to completely change the trajectory of your life, but as you reflect back on the journey, you see how all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.  The person you married is nothing like the person you thought you would marry, but he/she is the best person for you. The career you have is not the one you went to school for, but it fulfills you – it gives you joy. There are so many aspects of your life that may not have gone or may not go as YOU planned, but they worked out or are working out for YOUR good. It’s VERY important for you to be open to the fact that YOUR plan may not be HIS plan. You may not end up where you thought you were going, but you always end up where you were meant to be.

Leave a comment